Halifax - Nuclear Medicine
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 6 years
- CMG
- Nuclear Medicine
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 36293
Summary
- Dalhousie's Nuclear Medicine program is a 6-year combined Nuclear Medicine/Diagnostic Radiology program leading to certification in both specialties.
- It comprises one basic clinical year, two years of Nuclear Medicine and three years of Diagnostic Radiology.
- Adult training is at QEII Health Sciences Centre sites in Halifax, with pediatrics at the IWK Health Centre and a community experience at Saint John Regional Hospital.
- Residents must complete at least one approved scholarly project.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre
- Victoria General (VG)
- Halifax Infirmary (HI)
Show all 5Show fewer
- IWK Health Centre
- Saint John Regional Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Combined six-year program leading to certification in both Nuclear Medicine and Diagnostic Radiology.
- Department pays tuition for the 4-week AIRP radiology-pathology correlation course.
By year
- PGY-1
- clinical cardiology trainingat least 1 month
Other rotations
- adult clinical Nuclear Medicine (PGY-2 to 6 · QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General (VG) and Halifax Infirmary (HI) sites)
- Pediatric Nuclear Medicine (PGY-2 to 6 · IWK Health Centre)
- community NM experience (PGY-2 to 6 · Saint John Regional Hospital)
- radiopharmacy (PGY-2 to 6)
- technical aspects of Nuclear Medicine (PGY-2 to 6)
- cardiac stress-testing (PGY-2 to 6)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 22 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
| PGY-5 | $101,926 / year |
| PGY-6 | $108,066 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre (Halifax)
- Victoria General (VG) (Halifax)
- Halifax Infirmary (HI) (Halifax)
- IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
- Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
QEII Health Sciences Centre
QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Victoria General (VG)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Halifax Infirmary (HI)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
IWK Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Saint John Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 445
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program directors
Dr. Edward Wiley
Dr. Ashley Wiley
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage