Halifax - Hematological Pathology
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 4 years
- CMG
- Hematological Pathology
- 0–50
- 51–75%
- Accredited
- 35603
Summary
- Dalhousie's Hematological Pathology residency is a 4-year program with one CaRMS position, based at the QEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax.
- Pediatric hematopathology and maternofetal transfusion medicine training takes place at the nearby IWK Health Centre.
- During Transition to Practice, residents complete one community block at Saint John Regional Hospital.
- Residents can use protected research time, and they must present at the departmental research day in PGY2 through PGY4.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre
- Mackenzie Building
- Halifax Infirmary
Show all 5Show fewer
- IWK Health Centre
- Saint John Regional Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Highlights
- Training includes a tissue typing laboratory, which the program describes as world class.
- The program is the provincial reference laboratory for blood transfusion services.
- Conference funding of $3,000 a year for PGY2–4 residents who present their work.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- community rotation (Transition to Practice · 1 block · Saint John Regional Hospital)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 51–75%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre (Halifax)
- Mackenzie Building (Halifax)
- Halifax Infirmary (Halifax)
- IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
- Saint John Regional Hospital (St. John · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
QEII Health Sciences Centre
QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Halifax Infirmary
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
IWK Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Show facts for 1 more sitesShow fewer
Saint John Regional Hospital
- Inpatient beds
- 445
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Tish O'Reilly
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage