Halifax - Family Medicine - Palliative Care
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 2 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Palliative Care
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34660
Summary
- This one-year enhanced skills program in palliative care leads to eligibility for the CFPC Certificate of Added Competence in Palliative Care.
- Training is based at the QEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax, with at least 8 weeks at a distributed site, usually in New Brunswick.
- Call is taken from home on weeknights.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Sites
2 teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre
- IWK Health Centre
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Call
- Home call
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Required 2-4 week rotation in Palliative and Therapeutic Harmonization (PATH), a geriatrics service.
- Required 8-week community palliative care placement at a distributed site, usually in New Brunswick.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Palliative Care (22-24 weeks)
- Palliative Care - Community (8 weeks · Palliative care at a distributed site (usually New Brunswick))
- Pediatrics (2 weeks · IWK Health Centre, Halifax, NS.)
- Palliative and Therapeutic Harmonization (Geriatrics) (2-4 weeks · QEII Health Sciences Centre)
- Oncology (4 weeks · QEII Health Sciences Centre)
- Electives (12 weeks · Location to be determined.)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 19 and 20 Oct 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- QEII Health Sciences Centre (Halifax)
- IWK Health Centre (Halifax)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
QEII Health Sciences Centre
QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
IWK Health Centre
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Robin Grant
Enhanced Skills Palliative Care Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%