Halifax - Dermatology
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream
- 1 position
- 5 years
- CMG
- Dermatology
- 51–200
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 36238
Summary
- Dalhousie's five-year dermatology residency is based at Nova Scotia Health Authority Central Zone teaching hospitals, with most training in outpatient clinics at the VG and IWK hospitals.
- Core dermatology years rotate quarterly through three-month general, pediatric and subspecialty clinic blocks.
- Up to 10% of training may take place outside the Central Zone, and a scholarly project is mandatory.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
5 teaching sites
- Victoria General Hospital
- Izaac Walton Killam Children's Hospital
- Halifax Infirmary
Show all 5Show fewer
- Nova Scotia Rehabilitation Center
- Abbey Lane Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Weekly resident-run clinic in the final 1.5 years where residents book and manage their own patients.
- Weekly dermatopathology teaching from local dermatopathologists plus monthly clinico-pathology sessions.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- internal medicine (PGY1 & 2)
- family medicine (PGY1 & 2)
- emergency medicine (PGY1 & 2)
- pediatrics (PGY1 & 2)
- plastic surgery (PGY1 & 2)
- dermatopathology (PGY1 & 2)
- three month clinic blocks with general, pediatric and subspecialty clinic exposure (PGY 3-5 · three month)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 29 Jan 2027
- Format
- MMI or rotating station
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
| PGY-4 | $95,485 / year |
| PGY-5 | $101,926 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Frequency of call
- l in 4 in-hospital and for homecall
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Victoria General Hospital (Halifax)
- Izaac Walton Killam Children's Hospital (Halifax)
- Halifax Infirmary (Halifax)
- Nova Scotia Rehabilitation Center (Halifax)
- Abbey Lane Hospital (Halifax)
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program, and are not a ranking. We match names to the province’s lists by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Victoria General Hospital
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Izaac Walton Killam Children's Hospital
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Halifax Infirmary
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Show facts for 2 more sitesShow fewer
Nova Scotia Rehabilitation Center
- Hospital type
- Rehabilitation
Abbey Lane Hospital
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Ashley Sutherland
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Halifax, Nova Scotia
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −4.1 °C
- July average
- 18.5 °C
- Snowfall
- 215.2 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 0.9 days a year
People
- Population
- 439,819 people
- Official languages
- English only 87.1% · French only 0.1% · English and French 12.2% · neither 0.6%
- Immigrants
- 11.6% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 81.5% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 8.0% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $81,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Halifax, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.199
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 2.6%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,855 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 5.8%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage