Edmonton - Medical Microbiology
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaIMG stream
From the 2026 match (R-1 2026). See the 2027 version
- 1 position
- 5 years
- IMG
- Medical Microbiology
- 0–50
- 0–25%
- Accredited
- 29973
Summary
The Medical Microbiology Residency program is a five-year post-graduate medical training program at the University of Alberta designed to develop expertise in clinical microbiology. The program offers broad-based clinical and laboratory experience with flexibility to accommodate individual trainee interests and prepare residents to function as Medical Microbiology specialists.
Training
- Research
- Residents are required to complete at least one research project and are expected to author or co-author at least one abstract or peer-reviewed paper, with opportunities for clinical and basic research.
- Training setting
- Training occurs primarily in Edmonton at Edmonton Base Lab and the Provincial Laboratory for Public Health, with clinical rotations at multiple hospitals including University of Alberta Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, and other Alberta Health Services sites.
- Teaching approach
- A competency-based approach focusing on progressive skill development through four stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations of Discipline, Core of Discipline, and Transition to Practice.
- Setting types
- Academic medical center
- Public health laboratory
- Community hospitals
- Focus areas
- Clinical Microbiology
- Infectious Diseases
- Laboratory Medicine
- Public Health
- Epidemiology
- Infection Prevention and Control
- Antimicrobial Stewardship
- Patient populations
- Adult infectious disease patients
- Pediatric infectious disease patients
- Patients with various systemic infections
- Highlights
- Competence by Design (CBD) curriculum
- Interprovincial and international elective opportunities
- Research project requirement
- Individual project sponsorship
- Interdepartmental research collaborations
- Strengths
- One of the largest free-standing microbiology programs in Canada
- Highly flexible educational experiences
- Strong geographical proximity to relevant educational settings
- Excellent research infrastructure
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Selection
- What the program looks at
- MCCQE Part I
- NAC examination
- CV
- Electives
- Medical school transcripts
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- Research/Publications
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 0–25%
Interviews
- Dates (2026 match)
- 27 Jan 2026
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- University of Alberta Hospital
- Royal Alexandra Hospital
- Misericordia Community Hospital
- Grey Nuns Community Hospital
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Contacts weren't collected for the 2026 match.
The current program director and contacts are on the 2027 version of this program and on the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab).
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −10.3 °C
- July average
- 18.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 123.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.8 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,010,899 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.0% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.3%
- Immigrants
- 32.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 5.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.1% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 4.4% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $90,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Edmonton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.114
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,876 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage