Edmonton - Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 1 position
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Addiction Medicine
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34666
Summary
- This 1-year PGY-3 program trains family physicians to identify, assess and treat substance use disorders.
- Core rotations include inpatient consultation at Edmonton's largest trauma hospital, inner-city primary care at Radius Community Health & Healing, and a rural and remote experience in Whitehorse, Yukon.
- The program includes at least 8 weeks of electives and longitudinal Indigenous health training.
Training
- Setting
- Mixed settings
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural / remote
- Sites
14 teaching sites
- Radius Community Health & Healing (formerly Boyle McCauley Health Centre)
- Acute Care Addiction Recovery Program (formerly known as the Addiction Recovery and Community Health “ARCH” program)
- Addiction Recovery Centre
Show all 14Show fewer
- Henwood Treatment Centre
- Opioid Dependency and Enhanced Addictions Clinic
- Metro City Medical Clinic
- Lifemark Centre
- Kaye Edmonton Hepatitis C Clinic
- Northern Alberta Program for HIV care
- VODP/VRAAM
- Maskwacis Treatment Centre
- Acute Pain Service at the University of Alberta Hospital
- Step Up Step Down
- Addiction care sites & clinics in Whitehorse, Yukon
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Underserved urban
- Indigenous health
- Longitudinal / integrated
- Northern
- Research
- Offered · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Highlights
- Required rural and remote addiction care rotation in Whitehorse, Yukon.
- Longitudinal Indigenous health training plus a dedicated rotation at Maskwacis.
- Year starts with an intensive Addiction Medicine Bootcamp alongside Royal College fellows.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Inpatient addiction medicine consultation with the Acute Care Addiction Recovery Program (ACARP) (Edmonton’s largest trauma hospital)
- Multidisciplinary primary care for inner city populations (Radius Community Health & Healing)
- Opioid agonist management (Opioid Dependency & Enhanced Addiction Clinic (ODEAC), Metro City Clinic and the Virtual Opioid Dependency Program)
- Acute withdrawal management (Addiction Recovery Centre detox)
- Bed-based/residential treatment care (Henwood Treatment Centre)
- Rural & remote addiction care experience (Whitehorse, Yukon)
- Integrated longitudinal perinatal addiction care
- Integrated longitudinal Indigenous Health & dedicated rotation (Maskawacis Health Centre)
- Acute Pain Service with anesthesia consultative support (level 1 trauma hospital)
- Chronic Pain Clinic
- Adolescent addiction care in group home environment
- Hepatitis C & HIV concurrent care clinics
- Elective time (Minimum of 8 weeks)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not required · all residents
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Radius Community Health & Healing (formerly Boyle McCauley Health Centre) (Edmonton)
- Acute Care Addiction Recovery Program (formerly known as the Addiction Recovery and Community Health “ARCH” program) (Edmonton)
- Addiction Recovery Centre
- Henwood Treatment Centre
- Opioid Dependency and Enhanced Addictions Clinic
- Metro City Medical Clinic
- Lifemark Centre
- Kaye Edmonton Hepatitis C Clinic (Edmonton)
- Northern Alberta Program for HIV care
- VODP/VRAAM
- Maskwacis Treatment Centre (Maskwacis · rural or distributed site)
- Acute Pain Service at the University of Alberta Hospital (Edmonton)
- Step Up Step Down
- Addiction care sites & clinics in Whitehorse, Yukon (Whitehorse · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Tannis Spencer
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −10.3 °C
- July average
- 18.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 123.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 23.8 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,010,899 people
- Official languages
- English only 91.0% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.3%
- Immigrants
- 32.5% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 5.8% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 85.1% · public transit 8.1% · walking or cycling 4.4% · other 2.4%
- Median household income
- $90,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Edmonton, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.114
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 3.8%
- Basic cost of living
- $58,876 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.9%