Dryden - Family Medicine
NOSM UniversityDryden, OntarioCMG streamNew for 2027
- 2 positions
- 2 years
- CMG
- Family Medicine
- 51–200
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 37211
Summary
- This is a 2-year NOSM University family medicine program based in Dryden, a rural community in Northwestern Ontario.
- Training centres on the Dingwall Medical Clinic, Dryden Regional Health Centre and Princess Court Long-Term Care Home, with off-service rotations mainly at Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre.
- The sample schedule includes 24 weeks of rural family medicine in each year.
Training
- Setting
- Rural / remote
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- Dingwall Medical Clinic
- Dryden Regional Health Centre
- Princess Court Long-Term Care Home
Show all 7Show fewer
- Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre
- Lake of the Woods District Hospital
- NorWest Community Health Centre
- Dryden Native Friendship Centre's Waasegiizhig Nanaandawe’iyewigamig Health Access Centre
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Based in a rural community
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Northern
- Indigenous health
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Offered · research or quality-improvement project
- Call
- In-house and home call
- Getting around
- A car is recommended
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
- Highlights
- Exposure includes obstetrics with Caesarean sections, surgical assisting and anesthesia at a rural hospital.
- Clinic and hospital training sites are on the same property.
- Rural stream residents get an extra $1500 of donor funding for skills courses in 2027-28.
By year
- PGY-1
- Family Medicine Rural24 weeks
- Electives8 weeks
- Internal Medicine4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics/Women’s Health4 weeks
- Mental Health4 weeks
- Pediatrics4 weeks
- PGY-2
- Family Medicine Rural24 weeks
- Electives8 weeks
- CARE Selective (Community Aligned Resident Experience)4 weeks
- Internal Medicine4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics/Women’s Health4 weeks
- Surgical Selective4 weeks
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
Tue 27 Oct 20267:00 pm EST
Info session · Virtual
Link for NOSM University, Tue 27 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Thu 7 Jan 20277:00 pm EST
Social · Virtual
Link for NOSM University, Thu 7 Jan 2027 (opens in a new tab)
Mon 25 Jan 20277:00 pm EST
Info session · Virtual
Link for NOSM University, Mon 25 Jan 2027 (opens in a new tab)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Dingwall Medical Clinic (Dryden)
- Dryden Regional Health Centre (Dryden)
- Princess Court Long-Term Care Home (Dryden)
- Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (Thunder Bay)
- Lake of the Woods District Hospital (Kenora · rural or distributed site)
- NorWest Community Health Centre (Thunder Bay)
- Dryden Native Friendship Centre's Waasegiizhig Nanaandawe’iyewigamig Health Access Centre (Dryden)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
George Drazenovich
Program Coordinator
Program director
Dr. Jason Sutherland
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Meghan Olson
Site Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Dryden, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −17.2 °C
- July average
- 18.8 °C
- Snowfall
- 212.9 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 55.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 7,388 people
- Official languages
- English only 93.2% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.5% · neither 0.2%
- Immigrants
- 6.2% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 19.5% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 89.2% · public transit not reported · walking or cycling 9.0% · other 1.8%
- Median household income
- $82,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Dryden, a small population centre (1,000 to 29,999 people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.470
- Rurality Index for Ontario
- RIO2008 score 91 Official page(opens in a new tab)
- Student loan forgiveness
- Family medicine here may qualify for up to $60,000 of Canada Student Loan forgiveness. Eligibility depends on the postal code of where you work: check the official postal-code lookup. Postal-code lookup(opens in a new tab)
Housing, cost and work
- Basic cost of living
- $52,873 a year
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Very good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage