Calgary - Internal Medicine
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaIMG stream
- 6 positions
- 3 years
- IMG
- Internal Medicine
- 51–200
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 36168
Summary
- This is a 3-year Internal Medicine residency in Calgary with each year composed of thirteen 4-week blocks.
- Residents rotate through four acute care sites, with Foothills Medical Centre as the primary academic centre.
- Senior residents do night float with 12-hour call shifts, and the program offers a procedural certification program for ultrasound.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
6 teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC)
- Peter Lougheed Centre
- Rockyview General Hospital
Show all 6Show fewer
- South Health Campus
- Arthur Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre
- Richmond road Diagnostic and Treatment Centre
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Call
- In-house call · night float
- Highlights
- Procedural Certification Program for point-of-care ultrasound use in Internal Medicine.
- RCPSC-accredited simulation program.
By year
- PGY-1
- Medical Teaching Unit*6
- CCU1
- Nephrology1
- Geriatrics1
- Selectives4
- PGY-2
- Medical Teaching Unit*4
- CCU1
- ICU1
- Selectives4
- Elective2
- PGY-3
- Medical Teaching Unit*2
- CCU1
- ICU1
- Selectives8
- Elective1
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- IMG requirements
- “We do not accept Visa sponsored trainees in our program.”
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (2027 match)
- 20 and 27 Jan 2027
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC) (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (Calgary)
- South Health Campus (Calgary)
- Arthur Child Comprehensive Cancer Centre (Calgary)
- Richmond road Diagnostic and Treatment Centre (Calgary)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Maria Bacchus
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Location
Calgary, Alberta
Loading amenities…
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%
Job outlook
- Outlook, 2025–2027
- Good
- Canada-wide, to 2033
- Strong risk of Shortage