Calgary - Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- 3 positions
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Family Practice Anesthesia
- 0–50
- 76–100%
- Accredited
- 34558
Summary
- This one-year Family Practice Anesthesia enhanced skills program trains family physicians to provide anesthesia care for patients in rural and remote Canada.
- Training takes place at Calgary adult hospitals and Alberta Children's Hospital, in coordination with the Royal College anesthesia residency program.
- Rotations include 6 blocks of adult, 2 of pediatric, 2 of obstetrical and 3 of rural anesthesia, including required Yellowknife and Banff rotations.
Training
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Regional community
- Sites
7 teaching sites
- South Health Campus
- Foothills Medical Centre
- Alberta Children’s Hospital
Show all 7Show fewer
- Peter Lougheed Centre
- Rockyview General Hospital
- Stanton Territorial Hospital
- Banff Mineral Springs Hospital
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Northern
- Training language
- English
- Highlights
- Mandatory rural anesthesia rotation in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories.
- Run in coordination with the Royal College anesthesia residency, sharing learning opportunities.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- General Adult Anesthesia (6 blocks)
- Pediatric Anesthesia (2 blocks)
- Obstetrical Anesthesia (2 blocks)
- Rural Anesthesia (3 blocks · Yellowknife, Banff, block of resident's choosing)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 76–100%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- 20 and 28 Oct 2026; 4 Nov 2026
- Mode
- Virtual
- Format
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Frequency of calls
- In-house call: 7/28. 2/4 weekend call.Home call: 9/28. 2/4 weekend call**A Resident scheduled on Home call but who is required to work more than four hours in hospital during the call period, of which more than one full hour is past 12:00 a.m. and before 6:00 a.m., or more than six (6) hours in hospital during the call period, shall be remunerated at the rate for In-House call.$100 per day for each scheduled weekend day of patient rounds when not on-call
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
Teaching sites
- South Health Campus (Calgary)
- Foothills Medical Centre (Calgary)
- Alberta Children’s Hospital (Calgary)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (Calgary)
- Rockyview General Hospital (Calgary)
- Stanton Territorial Hospital (Yellowknife · rural or distributed site)
- Banff Mineral Springs Hospital (Banff · rural or distributed site)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Please contact first.
Tannis Dorscht
Enhanced Skills Team Lead
Program directors
Dr. Ronald Garnett
Dr. Julia Haber
Program Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
- Why Enhanced Skills?(opens in a new tab)
- Travel Alberta(opens in a new tab)
- FP Anesthesia Program Description(opens in a new tab)
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Calgary, Alberta
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.6 °C
- July average
- 16.9 °C
- Snowfall
- 138.7 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 21.6 days a year
People
- Population
- 1,306,784 people
- Official languages
- English only 90.8% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 2.5%
- Immigrants
- 33.3% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.2% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 83.2% · public transit 8.8% · walking or cycling 5.1% · other 2.9%
- Median household income
- $98,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Calgary, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.106
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.9%
- Basic cost of living
- $59,153 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.3%