Barrie - Family Medicine - Palliative Care
University of TorontoBarrie, OntarioCompetitive stream
Enhanced skills (FM/ES) match
Family medicine residents applying for a PGY-3 year (the "+1").
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- 1 year
- Competitive
- Family Medicine - Palliative Care
- 0–50
- 26–50%
- Accredited
- 37001
Summary
- This 12-month University of Toronto palliative care enhanced skills program has a Barrie stream that prepares physicians to provide primary and consultant palliative care.
- Mandatory blocks include inpatient consultation and oncology at Royal Victoria Hospital, home palliative care with the Barrie team, and rotations at Southlake, Princess Margaret, SickKids and Inner City Health Associates.
- Residents must complete a scholarly project and attend a four-month longitudinal half-day ambulatory clinic.
Training
- Setting
- Regional community
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Sites
10 teaching sites
- Royal Victoria Hospital
- Barrie palliative care team
- Southlake Regional Health Centre
Show all 10Show fewer
- Princess Margaret Hospital
- University Health Network (Princess Margaret Hospital)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
- Inner City Health Associates (ICHA)
- The Hospital for Sick Children
- Odette Cancer Centre
- Mount Sinai Hospital
Distributed across a region
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
- Highlights
- Required one-block rotation in palliative care for people experiencing homelessness (PEACH) with Inner City Health Associates.
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Inpatient Consultation Services (2 blocks · Royal Victoria Hospital)
- Home Palliative Care (2 blocks · Barrie palliative care team)
- Inpatient Palliative Care Unit (2 blocks · Southlake Regional Health Centre, Princess Margaret Hospital)
- Medical + Radiation Oncology (1 block · Royal Victoria Hospital)
- Psychosocial Oncology (1 block · University Health Network (Princess Margaret Hospital), Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre)
- PEACH (Palliative Education and Care for the Homeless) (1 Block · Inner City Health Associates (ICHA))
- Pediatric Palliative Care (0.5 Block · The Hospital for Sick Children)
- Non-malignant Palliative Care (0.5 Block · Royal Victoria Hospital)
- Elective (3 blocks · Negotiated individually, with approval of PD)
- longitudinal, four-month, half-day clinic (four-month · Odette Cancer Centre, Princess Margaret Hospital or Mount Sinai Hospital)
Selection
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Required · IMGs only
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Applicants offered interviews
- 26–50%
Interviews
- Dates (FM/ES 2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Panel
Pay
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
Teaching sites
- Royal Victoria Hospital (Barrie)
- Barrie palliative care team (Barrie)
- Southlake Regional Health Centre (Newmarket)
- Princess Margaret Hospital (Toronto)
- University Health Network (Princess Margaret Hospital) (Toronto)
- Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (Toronto)
- Inner City Health Associates (ICHA) (Toronto)
- The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
- Odette Cancer Centre (Toronto)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
Hospital facts
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
Contacts
Grouped by the titles CaRMS lists. The program office (administrators and coordinators) usually answers questions about the program and applying; the director leads the training.
Program officeadministrators and coordinators
Program director
Dr. Sarah Kawaguchi
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
Site staffdirectors and coordinators at the teaching sites
Dr. Jacky Lai
Interim Site Director
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
More links
Links the program published on CaRMS
Location
Barrie, Ontario
About the city
Public statistics for the place named by this program’s location label, each with its source and reference period. They describe the place, not the program, and are not a ranking. Check each source before you rely on it.
Climate
- January average
- −7.2 °C
- July average
- 20.1 °C
- Snowfall
- 174.1 cm a year
- Days below −20 °C
- 9.4 days a year
People
- Population
- 147,829 people
- Official languages
- English only 92.5% · French only 0.1% · English and French 6.6% · neither 0.8%
- Immigrants
- 16.9% of residents
- Indigenous identity
- 3.7% of residents
- How people commute
- car, truck or van 90.6% · public transit 3.7% · walking or cycling 3.8% · other 1.9%
- Median household income
- $93,000 before tax
Rural and remote
- Population centre
- Barrie, a large urban population centre (100,000 or more people)
- Remoteness index
- 0.096
Housing, cost and work
- Rental vacancy rate
- 4.2%
- Basic cost of living
- $54,744 a year
- Unemployment rate
- 6.4%